Celebrating 2014 Writing Successes

I can’t believe that it is almost 2015. The holidays seemed to fly by this year and it seems like it was just Halloween a week ago. Maybe it was the wacky weather here in Minnesota and the fact that winter showed up in early November and then it felt and looked like fall last week while I was finishing my Christmas shopping. Maybe it is because I worked on Christmas Carol for the last two months so I’ve been in the land of Christmas since November 6.

As I look back on 2014 I have a lot to be proud of. I feel like I’m making decisions in my writing career that will set me up for success in the future.

Children’s author Julie Hedlund, challenged participants of her 12 Days of Christmas for Writers series to post SUCCESSES (rather than resolutions) on our blogs this year. She believes the way New Year’s resolutions are traditionally made come from a place of negativity – what DIDN’T get done or achieved in the previous year. Instead, she suggests we set goals for the New Year that BUILD on our achievements from the previous one. I decided to participate in this Anti-Resolution Revolution! Here is my list for 2014.

Wrote 12 Picture Book Manuscripts for 12×12 in 2014.

Came up with 32 ideas for PiBoIdMo. That’s 32 ideas I can use 12×12 in 2015.

Posted manuscripts for feedback in the 12×12 forums. This was huge for me because I prefer to get feedback from people who I know in real life. I have had the experience of one well meaning comment on other online critique forums kill my story. But the comments from people on 12x were extremely helpful in making my story better.

Attended the Iowa SCBWI conference. This was such a fun conference and a great opportunity to meet new people.

IMG_1750

Attended  Molly Beth Griffin’s Picture Book Writers’ Salon when my schedule allowed

Moved my blog. After years of blogging on blogger, the blog I started 10 years ago as a place to write down my thoughts wasn’t the right place to build my author platform so I finally made the decision to move my blog.

Ordered business cards. No more going to events and not having a business card to hand someone I’ve made a connection with. Now I have business cards. Yay!

IMG_2614

Took a copywriting course and a copyediting course.

Participated in Julie Hedlund’s How to Make Money as a Writer course.

Began offering freelance copywriting, proofreading, and editing services and actually had clients! I am so excited by the support I’ve gotten from friends and how willing they were to use my writing services.

Began offering writing and editing services through fiverr.

Took myself on more artist dates. I made more trips to art museums and theaters this year in an effort to keep finding inspiration.

After years of being an amazing air guitarist, air drummer, and air pianist I purchased a ukulele and am learning how to play. I’m considering this a writing related thing because it is obviously providing research for characters in my YA and Middle Grade WIPs

2 thoughts on “Celebrating 2014 Writing Successes

Leave a Reply

