PiBoIdMo Update

In all the hustle and bustle that comes with working in theater during the holidays I haven’t had much time to update.

But the important thing is that I finished PiBoIdMo with 32 ideas. Success!

The last two times I did NaNoWriMo I did not finish the month with 50,000 words. Looking over those drafts I see that I must have gotten busy halfway through the month and stopped writing. But with PiBoIdMo that didn’t happen. I made it through the whole month.

While there were people getting hundreds of ideas I’m pretty excited about my 32. I also really like this practice of writing down these quick little ideas.

As November ended and December began with all of its advent calendars and 10:30 student matinees of Christmas Carol I found myself still having ideas pop into my head and want to be written down. Guess what, I wrote them down. Of course these ideas didn’t count towards my November idea total but it made me think about the overall benefits of PiBoIdMo.

When I first did NaNoWriMo it was because I wanted to become a more disciplined writer. I wanted to know what it would be like to write 1667 words a day. The habits I learn about writing 1667 words a day during the Novembers I do NaNoWriMo really stick with me for a while and even though my NaNo efforts haven’t gone on to become the next Water For Elephants I really do think my writing improves when I focus on achieving a small (ok large) daily goal.

Coming up with 30 (or 32!) ideas in 30 days has helped me grow as a writer. It has opened the idea faucet.  It has given my mind the time and practice to think about ideas and where they come from. It has gotten me in the habit of letting my mind wander while I try to cook up fun story ideas.

Did you spend November doing PiBoIdMo, NaNoWriMo, or some other challenge? How did it go? Have your new habits spilled into December?

Leave a Reply

