The Care and Feeding of Hufflepuffs

This summer I got some life altering news.

No, it wasn’t that I have the autoimmune hypothyroid disease. It wasn’t any of the other health or life challenges that I’ve faced in a year that seems to mostly be about change.

This summer I learned that I’m a Hufflepuff.

I’ve taken many a Buzzfeed quiz, Facebook quiz, and every other quiz available and have pretty much lived the last 15 years under the idea that I was a Gryffindor. After all if Buzzfeed’s sorting hat says I’m a Gryffindor who am I to argue?

DSC00803

This summer I went to Pottermore and I got sorted. I picked my pet, answered some questions, and eagerly waited to join Harry, Ron, Hermione, Neville, and Ginny at the Gryffindor table. But the Sorting Hat had different plans.  J.K. Rowling has spoken, through Pottermore, and I am a Hufflepuff.

IMG_0263

 

At first I was so devastated by this life altering news that I didn’t tell anyone. I mean I was a Hufflepuff, what was so great about that?

I made more of my friends take the Pottermore quiz. Secretly I was hoping more people would be Hufflepuffs like me and that I would find some solidarity with other Hufflepuffs. That didn’t work out the way I hoped I am a Hufflepuff in a Slytherin, Gryffindor, and Ravenclaw world. My friends are smart, brave, and ambitious. Me? Well, I can’t digest gluten, lactose, or yeast.

But then I started learning more about my house and even though I am a grown up it completely changed the way I see myself.

When Dumbledore gives a toast to Cedric Diggory at the end of Goblet of Fire he mentions the qualities that make Cedric Diggory an exemplary Hufflepuff. He was a good and loyal friend, a hard worker, he valued fair play.

I am all those things. I am loyal. I am a good friend. I am a hard worker. I value fair play.

IMG_0265

Once I realized that I am an excellent Hufflepuff I began to treat myself differently. I’ve met more Hufflepuffs. There are several Hufflpuffs at my lifeguarding job. It turns out Hufflepuffs make good lifeguards. It is sometimes hard to be a Hufflepuff in a world that values bravery, ambition, and intelligence.

Since realizing that I am a Hufflepuff I practice a different level of self care. It is hard to be a Hufflepuff in a world of Gryffindors, Ravenclaws, and Slytherins. Sometimes people walk all over you you because you are are a good, kind hearted, person. People roll their eyes and snap at you. Sometimes people laugh at you(see above video).  Sometimes people step on you or push you out of the way to get to something that they want.

Knowing that I am a Hufflepuff has helped me to value those qualities in myself- goodness, loyalty, hard work, fair play- and helps me nurture them. I take more time to nurture my goodness and loyalty.  In my own way I am finding ways to stand up for myself in situations where I feel like being a Hufflepuff isn’t valued.

What Pottermore house are you in? Was your house different than you thought it was and did that change how you saw yourself.

 

Leave a Reply

