Ready for PiBoIdMo

piboidmo2014officialparticipant

I love that November is a time for challenges.

Last year I signed up for NaNoWriMo. I actually did pretty well and made it halfway through my project before life intervened.

This year I am planning on participating in Tara Lazar’s PiBoIdMo.  Sign ups started today!

30 picture book ideas in one month.

Believe it or not I am not saying to myself, “This will be easy. You’ve written 1667 words a day for NaNoWriMo before.”

Actually I think this might be hard.

As a 12×12 participant I sometimes find myself struggling to come up with something to write about some months. Some months I write a picture book draft that is just no good or just doesn’t work out. Often those are the months where it has taken me a long time to come up with an idea or subject to write about. One that is unique. There is nothing like working on a draft and then finding out there is already a book similar to yours out there.

This year I’ve spent more time researching nonfiction subjects because I enjoy the research part of learning about a real person or event that took place.

I’ve also been looking in new places for inspiration. For example one week I found a National  Geographic magazine in the crew office. Between stories of heroic dogs, puffins, dinosaurs, and ufos my imagination was sparked. I might need to get myself a subscription to this magazine in the future. For now I just buy a copy whenever I feel like I need a little extra inspiration.

Now the only problem will be waiting until next week to start.

Leave a Reply

