Expanding my skills

For the past year or so in my journey towards publication I have had the feeling like I am on the cusp of something good happening.

As I keep track of my progress submitting my manuscripts in my Spreadsheet of Rejection I’ve noticed that several agents have taken the time to give small tidbits of feedback.

Since agents are people who open a million emails a day getting an email that feels like someone has read my story and liked something they saw enough to send a bit of advice/encouragement my way is huge. I hear agents speak at conferences. I’ve seen figures of the numbers of submissions vs. the number of requests vs. offers of representation. Knowing these figures has made these morsels of encouragement mean even that much more.

So feeling like I am on the cusp of something awesome happening has also made me think “How can I use my writing to support myself so I can write more?”

Much of this last year has been dedicated to finding the answer to that question. This spring I took an online copywriting course and I quickly found clients in my group of friends. I am currently taking a copyediting course to hone my skills in that area as well.

Since taking those courses I’ve gotten a lot of emails for offers on how to make six figures as a writer and live the life I’ve always dreamed writing from the comfort of a lounge chair on a beach wearing flip flops. As a Vitamin D starved Minnesotan who lives for the three months of the year when I can wear flip flops these offers are insanely tempting. Yes, I want to write on a beach! But, these emails have that to good to be true feeling. Always proceed with caution when someone offers freedom from shoes.

DSC00486

When I got an email from Julie Hedlund on How to Make Money as a writer it felt different. See, I trust Julie. This is my third year doing 12×12 and the community she has created is amazing. I knew I had to take this course.

Julie’s email didn’t promise six figures or freedom from shoes. The lessons in this course are extremely helpful. So far the lessons have been a kick in the pants to reevaluate my website(still not sure the future of my previous blog) and include the services I plan to offer as a freelance writer on my site.

While my goal is to be a wildly successful children’s book author I feel like her advice is going to be helpful not only in marketing myself as an author but also as I help some of my clients spread the word about their businesses.

Leave a Reply

